that stupid downward flying bird

2008-02-19 6:51 p.m.

today i was woken up at 6.45-ish by dionne, calling to tell me some rather bad news about her jae posting.

apparently The Sms had already been sent.

but since i slept at about 4am the day i wasnt surprised that the insignificant but very loud 'Ooooo..' sound which is my sms ringtone failed to wake me up.

so with only about 2 hours of sleep rattling in me i answered the phone in terms of 'mmmm' and 'uhhh', and stuff about jae didnt really seem all that important.

till i hung up the phone, sleepily checked my own sms and saw THE MESSAGE that would haunt me for the rest of my life.

MOE: Congrats ENG JING CI DAWN you are posted to CATHOLIC JC, SCIENCE (23S) under 2008 JAE. Pl report to JC/MI on 20 Feb 08 at 7.30am.

i bolted upright and screamed.

or rather TRIED to scream the only sound that came out of my throat was a strangled, choking yelp.

there is absolutely nothing CONGRATULATORY about being posted to cj.

which was my FIFTH CHOICE, in case i havent specified.

i remember blogging sometime ago about the possibilty of my going to cj being rather high.

BUT I DIDNT THINK IT WAS REALLY POSSIBLE!

i mean there's a difference between speculating about it in terms of eventually and being confronted with it here and now.

so i gave it some thought and realized that it was putting ac science as second choice which totally screwed up my application.

i would like to clarify now that i only amended my application, replacing aj sci for ac sci, because MY FAMILY WAS PRESSURIZING ME.

and now because i succumbed to that pressure i dropped all the way down to my fifth choice.

never again.

and so with that in mind i stormed out of my room to spread my wrath.

which is how everyone in the family got startled awake at 7.

buuut afterwards there were some rather interesting developments that i HOPE will get me in aj.

if not...

if not...

well. either dora or i would make good our offers to kill ourselves.

i will know by thursday whether or not my appeal to aj comes through.

TWO DAYS MORE!

summer & winter