when you do nothing at all

2009-10-20 11:03 p.m.

today, after i sat stoning in front of a pile of maths and finally moved my eyes to the mercifully blank ceiling, i could actually feel my brain unclenching.

i decided to stare at the ceiling rather than at my pile because it had reached a point where i couldnt differentiate 2x correctly.

it doesnt help that everyone in my house is getting more irritating (or my nerves are just becoming easier to get on).

today my mom took one step into my room and gasped 'THE WINDOW!!!' in such great horror you would have thought that it was gaping wide open with toxic gases flooding in.

what really happened?

i opened the curtains.

because i was feeling frustrated and hemmed in and never did very well in small enclosed little spaces to begin with, so my room + maths for extended periods = $@!%&@!#!&$@!!!!

so pardon me if i couldnt care less about the bhangra next door my mom is sooooo concerned about (hence the complete blockage of all my windows and nightly balcony-door check).

because they'd pop up with binoculars the instant i open my curtains, im sure.

the other day the fuss was about a little gap in the curtains.

'dawn why is there a HOLE in your curtains?'

'a HOLE?'

'yes, a HOLE.'

'i dont know.'

'did you open it?'

'no.'

(actually i had, because i wanted to look at the sky the night before and the curtains were blocking even after i'd opened the blinds.

yes, i have blinds too.)

and so, the mystery of the HOLE remained unsolved.

but honestly, i dont know what all the fuss is about.

although the window is directly over my bed its too high for anything but the wall and bookshelf to be seen when im lying down.

which is my usual posture on the bed because, strange thing, that's where i SLEEP.

some study break this is turning out to be.

summer & winter