smile

2008-07-18 8:14 p.m.

dont judge a book by its cover.

dont judge someone by his voice.

such was the lesson i learnt after my encounter with smile inc.

a dental clinic, that is. (because you so cant tell by the name right)

because of a lot of irritating appointment issues and me and my mom's getting lost whilst trying to find the place (we share the same sense-of-direction genes; it was much like the blind leading the blind) i spoke so much with the front desk over the space of this week that all i had to say was 'hi, im dawn.' for them to understand the whole situation.

of course, it helps that the front desk consists of only 1 person.

said person had such a strong caucasian-ish accent that even i had problems comprehending, and also had the habit of speaking like a voice-recorded message.

the first time i called to enquire about instant braces the receipient spoke so like a cheesy advertisement that i seriously pondered for a while whether it was possible they had installed audio-sensor things which relay the message as soon as it picks up the words 'instant braces'.

every word was spoken with such lilt and expression that it was practically singing.

anyway funny voice aside. when i finally found the place, went in and saw my correspondent (which means my correspondent also saw me) there was mutual shock on both our parts.

funny voice was not in fact caucasian but a strange unidentifiable mix of races, and in fact i wouldnt have known it was the same person had he not said 'YOU'RE dawn?' in a tone which echoed my surprised sentiments.

i dont know what he has to feel surprised about though, its not as if i go around putting on a fake american accent to fool people into thinking i were caucasian.

what with that and a number of other funny incidents it seems everyone at smile inc has a strange sense of humor.

when one of my earlier calls had been referred to another branch of theirs, the receptionist at that end had collapsed into giggles at herself after asking me for my contact number because she had been the one to call me.

during my consultation the dentist kindly informed me (in response to my question about how long the ceramic thing he was suggesting i do would last) that the ceramic had no self-destruct function so i didnt have to worry about it exploding in my mouth after a certain number of years, but i probably SHOULD reconsider if i were thinking about taking up muay thai boxing because an elbow in the face would likely cause it to break.

there goes my plans for a new pastime.

but all in all its probably one of the best clinics ive been to as yet, simply because i spent more time feeling amused than worrying about getting in that dreaded dental chair.

whoever would have expected that from people who do teeth?














for the observant ones who scroll down here (meaning you're going to TAG, right? RIGHT??) here's a random joke from foxtrot.

(for bio students only.)

'paige, between telophase and anaphase there's no such thing as smileyphase.'

summer & winter