orientation 3

2008-01-05 1:10 a.m.

i knew it.

rolling in the mud was just a DAY away.

what did i say before?!

today at ac i spotted a newly formed mud puddle.

apparently they couldnt wait for a puddle to form naturally because although it rained almost everyday the soil had decided to side us and stay dry.

normal people would just leave it at that and call it a day.

but nooooo they specially MADE a mud puddle for us by hosing a patch of grass down, just so we could get down and dirty.

i should feel flattered.

but i dont.

when i spied the mud puddle out of the corner of my eye (i had a feeling i wasnt supposed to see it yet) i swore to myself that i wouldnt go in without a fight.

but then again ive never kept a promise in my life (not even one to myself).

peer pressure is apparently much stronger than my resolve.

and so that was how i found my wrist tied to rutian's, plunging into the dreaded mud puddle.

well not exactly PLUNGING (like some others) but more like gracefully falling down into the mud and gracefully clambering across on all fours (not belly down like SOME OTHERS).

i was congratulating myself on managing to keep my torso and head relatively clean when ppl started throwing mud clods around.

rutian got a whole chunk in her hair and i got a streak on the cheek.

WHO ON EARTH THREW THAT MUD CLOD?!

but despite all that i emerged from the puddle very clean compared to the rest.

clean enough to suddenly find myself the centre of attention. amongst a bunch of dirty muddy people, that is quite a scary thing.

before i knew it everyone had suddenly become my friends and started hugging me, patting me on the back and grabbing my shoulders, conveniently shifting the mud from their clothes onto mine.

clean? what was i talking about?

when the abuse was finally over we went to get cleaned up, which actually meant getting hosed down, before queuing up for another dirty disgusting game again.

i have no idea why they wanted to get cleaned up before going for the next dirty game.

it was during the long boring wait for the human bowling game that rutian dug the earthworm out of her hair.

my disgust cannot be put into words.

it just goes like 'eurgh argh eeeeee yuck!'

when the wait finally ended and they prepared to play the dirty game my tummy started to ache.

like seriously!

i know the timing was suspicious.

even i was surprised.

i was prepared to tell them i didnt want to play.

but once again divine intervention did the job for me.

so i went to the toilet to take care of business.

only there did i find out that i was sunburnt, much to my distress.

so i spent some time in the toilet trying to cool my skin down and asked random j2s and the canteen aunties whether they thought i looked sunburnt.

which they all did.

resigned to my fate i decided to go out and look for my og again.

only to discover that i couldnt find them.

so i talked to another random lost j1 (i do that a lot nowadays) and just hung with her till we found our ogs again.

my og was twice as dirty and muddy as they had been when i had last seen them and looked battleworn and scarred. trooping towards the bleachers they looked like defeated soldiers returning to base (cue the patriotic music).

apparently in my absence they had played (and lost) the human bowling game, been forfeited to roll in the mud and then played the disgusting shaving cream game.

and i thought i was having a tough time sitting by the side waiting.

tomorrow is the last day of orientation.

but i wont be able to make it because one of the (many) fillings in my teeth came out and i have to get it replaced.

guess that means i'd miss the whole thing.

sadnesssssssssss.

summer & winter