en la pasion

2010-04-07 2:51 a.m.

finally the giant headache is overrrrrr.

and here is the result.



since that one is terribly blurry because of the fact that we seem to reflect light, i managed to find a rehearsal one!



its not narcissism, its SELF REFLECTION (in a way).

though i probably aged 20 years from the stress, though i had to resort to changing the choreo one hour before the competition which probably gave me white hair, though i went through a lot of very extreme emotions like super pissed-offness and super depressedness, though i thought about quitting 5 minutes before my turn, though i sustained 2 million floor burns on my feet, im sure i learnt something from this experience.



i just havent figured out what it is yet.

i wish i could say i learnt calmness in the face of calamity but all i realized was that i yell a lot in the face of calamity.

i DID learn that zouk is terribly dangerous for dancing if not cleaned up!

when we went there at around 1 something for the tech run it seemed the entire place hadnt been set up yet and all we saw was a very dirty, rough, unpolished floor with a huge tiled strange....thingy smack in the centre blocking half the floor and a rickety, holey stage.

i almost hyperventilated because i couldnt imagine doing my choreo on the stage OR on the floor because either might have me ending up with grievous injuries since i actually get up close and personal with the ground what with my choreo involving a one hand cartwheel, split and backflip on the floor.

(and that was BEFORE i found out there was GLASS SHARDS all over the floor.)

thankfully they cleaned up the floor (when they saw me barefooted) and moved the huge monstrosity in the middle away before my run through so i didnt end up with cuts and abrasions, just bruises and burns.

on a completely random note though my illusion of zouk as a cool sophisticated clubbing place was sort of destroyed when i saw it in its undimmed, unpolished, un-drunk-peopled state because it just looked like a rather shabby old place.

but anyway. after the tech run i realized that the ending to my choreo (which only came into existence the day before) could NOT be pulled off and emo-ed quite badly the entire ride back to xen because i really could not see a way out of the situation.

all i could think of was 'what can i do to cover this up?' but i kept drawing blanks because i had pretty much already exhausted all my doable moves covering up all the previous flaws in the choreo, like swapping the cartwheel over my partner for a one hand cartwheel on my own, doing my own splits and backflip as opposed to dips and stunts with the partner, so i really saw no way of pulling the choreo off in the end because there was only so much i could do.

in the end i settled for something simpler, 4 poses i could do on my own even without the partner's help though it LOOKS as if the partner is helping before a simple lift into a split which would be the ending pose.

(in the end i tilted my head back as an afterthought so that's why it was late.)

my ideal ending had been a gazillion spins before a very cool, very low dip but at that point of time i had given up on impressive already and was only aiming for decent.

but oh well. overall the experience was....enlightening?

but i would neverrrr, everrrr in a gazillion years repeat this again.

summer & winter